THE GREAT SHOCK – CHAPTER 3

***DRAFT. AWAITING FINAL EDIT.

” Where is your car?” George whispered, trying to be quiet, his voice still echoing in the stillness of the parking garage.

“Here. Level twelve.” Elle whispered back.

“I’m down on Level six. I’ll walk you to your car and then I’ll meet you at the Motel 6 in the Wilson Street Mall.”

“Why are you way down there?” Elle whispered.

“I need the exercise!  I can’t eat those maple bars and scones every day if don’t move around a little bit.”

George tucked Elle in her car and watched her begin her trip down twelve stories to the street. Berating himself for not getting in with her to make sure she got as far as his car in safety, he got back in the elevator and pressed the button for six.

Elle, nervously tapped the steering wheel waiting for her turn to pay. She practically threw her ticket and money at the attendant who deftly caught it all mid-air.

“Whoa, there, pretty lady! Are you in a hurry?” He grinned at her.

“Sorry! Yes, actually I am! So, if you don’t mind?” Elle tried smiling back, but her lips were dry and stiff.

He handed back her change and hit the button for the arm to go up and she scooted on through.

Weaving in and out of traffic, she suddenly realized she could be drawing attention to herself so she adjusted her speed and tried to drive more sedately. She chuckled to herself. As if a red Hummer didn’t already turn heads. She continued agonizing about how her life had been upended in the twinkling of an eye. Why couldn’t she have left Butch the Beast years ago? Why did she hang on for so long? Why did she allow him to torture her? Why had she subjected herself to that for so long? Why hadn’t she noticed anything peculiar? Why? Why? Gahhh!!!

She pulled into the parking lot of the little Motel 6 and looked for George’s Mustang. “Yah we’re really incognito now,” she said dryly. “No one will notice a bright red perfectly refurbished (for a mere forty thousand dollars) 1969 Ford Mustang convertible, parked next to a bright red giant Hummer. Why did I decide I wanted a Hummer? What am I? Some sort of week-end warrior? Gahh!! “

She turned off the ignition and opened the door and attempted to get out. Oh, seatbelt. She frowned. Note to self: unlatch seat belt BEFORE leaving the car. “Get a grip, girlie!” she whispered, and climbed down.

George was waiting for her. “Are you ok?”

“I guess so. I’m kinda numb. I just can’t wrap my head around this.”

Butch’s voice behind them kicked the fear into full gear. George and Elle’s heads spun around in tandem, their shock visible. George put his arm around Elle and pulled her tight against him.

“What are you doing here?” George glared at him.

Butch laughed. “Well look at you two! Aren’t you all cozy? How long has this been going on, Elle? Is this who you spend time with when I’m not around? Are you two-timing me, Elle? That could get dangerous, you know. I never believed you two were just friends. That was always a load of bullshit!”

“I have never been unfaithful to you, you big beast! But just to clarify, you and I are finished! Fini! Fertig! Finalizada! Your belongings are all in trash bags in the living room. You have 3 days to go get them and be gone out of my life and then I call the Sheriff. And by the way, I arranged a restraining order.”

“Hold on. Wait a minute! There is no need to go on like that. I would never hurt you! Would I?” It almost sounded like Butch was whining! Weird.

Elle laughed. “Want to see some scars?”

She looked at George. “I can’t stay here. The Beast can’t know where I am.”

“Elle! Wait a minute. I need to talk to you — ALONE.”

“No! George is my attorney. I don’t keep secrets from him.”

“Ok. Fine. I’ve lost something and it’s very valuable. I really need to find it.”

“Well, if you weren’t such a slob, you might have less trouble keeping track of things.”

“I’m looking for a little book. A small thin notebook. It has some important notes in it and I can’t lose it or my life could be in danger.”

“Why would I know anything about that?”

“Please, Elle, you gotta help me!”

“Oh this is cute. You beat me up one day and beg for help the next! You’re a funny guy, there ol’ Butch!!!”

“Please, Elle, I am not kidding. I cannot lose that book!!”

“Ok, Butch, go ahead and go to the house and look for it. And when you’re done, take all your trash bags with you and leave the key. And be gone out of my life! You have sucked everything out of me. I am a shell. My heart and soul are just empty little boxes. Just go away.”

“Thanks, Elle.” Butch walked backwards away from them and as he approached his car he yelled his thanks one more time.

“Ugh.” Elle made a face. “Why is he being so pleasant? It’s weird.”

George took her arm and marched her back to her car. “We need to find someplace to hide your rig. It’s too noticeable. Follow me. I’m going to figure out where to hide that thing.”

Elle followed George for several minutes and was surprised when he entered the freeway. She dutifully followed all the way to the airport. She continued behind him as he turned into the long-term parking area.

“Good Old George! ” she said out loud. “So smart!” She drove around looking for a good place to park and spied a big red van with an empty space beside it. “Perfect!” she thought. She placed her ticket on the dash as instructed, hit the door lock on her key fob, got out and slammed the door.

She hopped in the Mustang and they roared out of the lot and out onto the freeway. She dug in her bag for her sunglasses and put them on so she could stop squinting in the bright sun. She checked the glove box for something to keep her hair out of her face and discovered her old black scarf. She grabbed it, tied it on her head, and looked over at George. He was smiling

“How many other girls have worn this scarf?” Elle teased.

“Are you kidding? No woman is allowed to sit in that seat, let alone wear that scarf!”

“Why, George! Are you still carrying a torch for me?”

“That’s none of your business! Can we please concentrate on the problem at hand?”

“Oh! Yes! Of course! So sorry!”

“So we need to find a hotel and you need to check in with a fake name and stay there and don’t leave the room for any reason.”

Keeping one eye on his rear view mirror he drove the speed limit and took the downtown exit. He wound his way around the business district and then turned back down towards the cluster of shops and restaurants, and just beyond that were several hotels. He turned into one of the parking lots and parked in a heavily populated area.

They walked in and were greeted by the man at the desk. They tried to register Elle with her fake name, but the desk clerk said they couldn’t because he needed valid I.D. with a credit card. George told the clerk that he would pay, but Elle pulled out some cash from her bag and handed it over and the clerk accepted it. Elle wanted Holly Go Lightly for her fake name, but George said that was too obvious. They decided on Billie Gondorff. George knew it was useless to try to talk her out of it since the Sting was one of her favorite movies.

At last they were high up in the hotel in a room over looking the river. George pulled out his cell phone and made a call.

“Georgie! How are ya? What are you doing? Oh.. do you have time to do me a little favor? Oh, good. I need you to take your finger print set and go to my office and dust the inside of the front door. I’ll explain it later, but there were some really weird characters in my office earlier today and I don’t know who they are. What? Yes, Georgie, a lot of my clients are weird characters. Very funny. Could you go right away this afternoon? Excellent! Call me when you’re done. Thanks! You’re a good man, Charlie Brown!”

Then he made another call.

“Extension 4041 please. Thank you… Jack? Oh, good, you’re there. I have a huge favor. Yes, I promise. Whatever you want. Yes, yes, the Pineapple Express at Dick’s Primal. Georgie is dusting the inside of the front door of my office right now. A couple of very strange men burst in this morning with guns blazing. I think they are connected to Elle’s ex, Butch. But I need names and soon. Yes. I told him to call me as soon as he is finished. I am going to have him deliver it all to you and you only. See if you can bring anything up? Yes. Thanks, man.”

Elle felt safe for the moment. George didn’t really want to leave her. They sat in overstuffed chairs that the hotel staff so kindly arranged in such a way that guests could relax, allow the stress of the day to fade, and soak up the spectacular view. But the stress of the day wasn’t fading. They were both wound tight.

There was a loud knock at the door. “Room service!” said a voice.

They looked at each other. “Elle, did you–?

“NO! I didn’t! Did you–?

“NO! I didn’t either!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.